Make Tuesday the New Friday with Buzztime Digital Entertainment!

Thread: Want to open a concert venue/bar

Smile Want to open a concert venue/bar

ive been reading up on the threads and i may say its very educational. i am new to the nightclub business but i recently came across an oportunity that i just cannot seem to let go of. This is the scenario: i came up with the idea of opening a venue for local/national acts but would also be a rock club/bar of sorts. i mentioned it to a friend and he immediately said he had 100k to put into it and a couple of days later he said he had two more buddies that were interested in the idea. So all of a sudden, i can potentially collect about 300 to 500k for my idea. now, ive been working on a business plan and i am positive that the venue would work, location (which we already fiound) is prime, in a downtown area, the concert hall/stage/bar area is about 7,500 square feet plus a second level vip/office area that is 2000 square feet. there is no place like it around in the county, so there is no competition with the exception of the surrounding nightclubs, but our theme is completely different, plus there are no concert venues of that size for about an hour drive from it.
    with that said...i need some pointers on how much the startup cost for liquor is (ballpark)? if you read my scenario, what would be your next step?
    any help is appreciated.

my next step would be to develop a business plan and budget to work from. 500k on a venue will go like lightning if you need hvac, plumbing, electric, dance lighting, sound and so on. For liquor I would budget around 17k. How many bars do you plan on?

When you build a club like this does it need its own parking? How many parking spaces are required for the 7500 (9500) square foot venue? Would this be in Downtown Palm Beach? How many patrons could you have in this space? (thinking out loud here)

Thanks for the responses guys.